University of Saskatchewan – 2016 CCSA Champions

Canadian Collegiate Softball Association logo

An innovative solution by the Host Committee moved the 2016 CCSA National Championships indoors, when cold snowy weather prevented the games being held outside.

The University of Saskatchewan won the 2016 CSSA national championship in exciting fashion, beating the previously undefeated University of Western Ontario Mustangs 1-0 in 9 innings in the championship final.

A brilliant catch by U of S right fielder Carly Zultok kept the score tied in the bottom of the 8th inning and the U of S took the momentum into the 9th.  In the 9th, All-star Short Stop Dana Lahti hit in her sister Claire from 3rd for what turned out to be the winning run. It was the only run given up all weekend by Championship MVP Rae Jacques.  The Championship’s Top Pitcher Kailey Strouts, did the rest in the bottom of the 9th as she got Western in order to earn the 9 inning shut out.

The University of Regina Cougars beat Fanshawe Falcons 3-0 to win the bronze medal.

The Championship All- stars were announced following Pool play. Congratulations to:

Fielder – Jenna Pierce – St Clair Saints

Fielder – Megan Lumley – St Clair Saints

Fielder – Rachel Dotzert – Fanshawe Falcons 

3rd Base – Kady Hawkins – Fanshawe Falcons

Short Stop – Dana Lahti – University of Saskatchewan

2nd Base – Jaimie Clarke – Durham Lords

1st Base – Robyn Wood – Western Ontario Mustangs

Catcher – Mikaila Etheridge – University of Regina Cougars

Pitcher – Rae Jacques – Western Ontario Mustangs

Utility – Courtney Reynolds – Western Ontario Mustangs 

Awards for the whole championship were presently after the Gold Medal Game

Championship Top Hitter – Courtney Reynolds Western Ontario Mustangs 

Championship Top Pitcher – Kailey Strouts – University of Saskatchewan

Championship MVP – Rae Jacques Western Ontario Mustangs